I Should Be Getting Ready for School Tomorrow aka The Notorious 11 Questions

The PLN Challenge:
1.      Acknowledge the nominating blogger – @justinaion  CHECK
2.      Share 11 random facts about yourself CHECK (SEE BELOW)
3.      Answer the 11 questions the nominating blogger has created for you CHECK (SEE BELOW)
4.      Nominate 11 bloggers for the Challenge I will do what Justin did and post this as a tweet.  Hope someone takes the challenge!
5.      Post 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate to answer and let the bloggers know they have been nominated.
Eleven Random Facts You May or May Not Know About Me
1. Once upon a time in a land far, far away, I majored in English, got a Masters degree in English, and wanted to be an academic.
2. While I was fantasizing about my life in the ivory tower, I was also a disco queen dating a townie bartender.
3. I was a member of a performing Israeli Folk Dance troupe and danced on the stage at Avery Fisher Hall at Lincoln Center.
4. I had the date of Barack Obama’s first inauguration buzzed into my hair as part of my personal celebration.
5. I am phobic about flying (hence willingness to make road trip to Oklahoma…).
6.  I was the treasurer and president of the PTA at my children’s elementary school.
7. I was a flautist as a teenager and regret giving it up.
8. I became a teacher after 2 other careers.
9. I have been married twice.
10. I am a quilter who is currently struggling with my quilting mojo, and..
11. I have 2 children – one daughter and one who is non-binary, and they bring me the most pride and joy of anything.
JUSTIN’S 11 Questions for ME!
  1. Why did you pick your current content area? (a) Love math. (b) Figured there were more jobs there than English. (c) Figured grading math papers was easier than essays.
  2. If you could pick any other content area, what would you pick and why? English – I miss talking about literature.
  3. What is one thing that you would like to become expert in doing? Very torn between quilting and math.
  4. If you won $100,000,000, what would you spend it on? (a) Large home in Vermont on Lake Champlain where everyone could come visit and stay as long as they like, where my husband could have a woodshop and I could have a quilt studio; (b) Give a LOT away in support of public education and cancer research; (c) Adopt a lot of animals!
  5. If you could have one piece of tech that doesn’t currently exist, what would it be and why? A transporter because I HATE TO FLY and I would like to go places INSTANTLY.
  6. What is you favorite lesson that you have taught/seen? I love to see how Dan Meyer works a three act with a group; would love to be able to do that.
  7. If you could  fight one historical figure, who would you fight? I don’t want to fight anyone.  I wouldn’t mind killing Hitler before he got started, though.
  8. What would you do if you knew you couldn’t fail? (2 things only) I would play my flute again and I would get a degree in higher mathematics.
  9. If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? Cereal (with milk).
  10. What makes your favorite book your favorite? Beautiful sentences, wild but believable plot, can’t put it down.
  11. If you could change one physical characteristic about yourself, what would it be? I am vain about my legs, and childbearing was not kind to them.  I’d love them to look nice again.

11 Questions to Which I’d Like to Hear Your Answers

  1. How did you decide to become a teacher?
  2. How many states/countries have you lived in?
  3. What are you most afraid of?
  4. If you weren’t a teacher, what do you think you would do (or what would you want to do)?
  5. What is your favorite thing (lesson/activity) to do with your classes?
  6. What is your favorite book and why? [sorry Justin - this is a great question!]
  7. If you could travel anywhere, where would that be?
  8. What do you wish you had more time for (one thing)?
  9. What is your favorite game to play?
  10. What is one thing you would like to try in your classroom but haven’t yet?
  11. What is one of your most memorable Halloween costumes?

2 comments

  1. mrdardy

    Alright, I’ll play since I can’t fall asleep tonight…
    1. I thought I’d be an engineer until second semester Chem. An advisor advised me to take home the university course catalog and list classes that looked interesting. We had lunch the next week to figure this out. I had listed a bunch of math and physics and psychology classes. I talked about how much I liked being around interesting conversations, how I liked figuring out how people think, and how much I just liked school. He advised me to think about teaching. 27 years of doing it and still loving it.
    2. I’ve lived in 4 states (NY, FL, NJ, PA) no other countries
    3. I am most afraid of rejection from those I love and admire. I try to make that into a positive by working hard and being thoughtful so as not to run into that rejection.
    4. If I weren’t a teacher, I’d love to be a music journalist or have some other job in the music field. I DJ’ed, worked in a record store and wrote about music for awhile before teaching and when i was a young math teacher.
    5. My favorite problem to work on with my students is the locker problem. Love listening to the thought process as they (inevitably) unlock (get it?!?!) this problem.
    6. My favorite book is ‘Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man’ by James Joyce. The language is so vivid, I just get lost in it. Stephen Daedalus is incredibly fascinating to me – I sometimes wish I could be that analytical and ascetic, but it’s not me at all.
    7. My wife lived in Spain for three years and I’d love to be able to travel to where she lived to see the stories she has told me come to life.
    8. Listening to music. Since my kids (10 yr old boy and 4 yr old girl) came into my life I have nowhere near the time to devote to hearing new music and listening to the music I know I love.
    9. I’ll make this a sports question. I love playing basketball despite having little talent for the game.
    10. I would like to understand better how to try (periodically) a flipped model to see if I could lecture to a blank room and see how the kids respond.
    11. Not a Halloween guy, sorry.

Leave a Reply

