Mission #2: Twitter Me This

I fall somewhere in between an experienced Twitter user and a newbie.  I love the connected feeling it gives me.  I love that after #TMC13, there are faces and personalities and smiles to attach to the tweets (I just mistyped ‘sweets’ by accident – what a lovely Freudian slip!).  I love that when I am stuck planning, or want to bounceImage some ideas off of someone, or am just feeling a little isolated even in the great metropolis known as Brooklyn, I can open up my Tweetdeck, and there everyone is.  And since I walked myself through David Wees’ fabulous post on how to use Twitter (http://davidwees.com/content/eight-videos-help-teachers-get-started-using-twitter) about 2 weeks before Twitter Math Camp, I am getting more comfortable with just jumping right in there.  I try hard to acknowledge people as often as possible, knowing how it feels to watch (or lurk behind) the conversation pinging back and forth like a badminton match.

Still, there are times that the whole process is overwhelming – I don’t know how to balance concentrating on other work – grading, planning, my LIFE, and tweet at the same time.  So there have been days where I have looked longingly at the Tweetdeck icon on my dock, and forbade myself from clicking on it.  I don’t know how others do it, to be honest – makes me feel a little OLD.  Or just realistic.

But I have to say – there must be a connection between the fact that in the last 6 months, I attended 2 conference in which I met motivated, connected teachers from all over the country – the globe! – and have been on Twitter regularly, and that I am [thus far] having the most productive teaching year yet.  I still have those dark moments in which I doubt my efficacy, but for the most part, I am aware that I am passionate and committed to my students and my craft, and that I am part of a global community with whom I have that in common.

It is ironic that I love chatting with my math tweeps even though there is a lot we don’t know about each other.  And when you are ‘of a certain age’, there is a lot in your history that makes you YOU.  But the vitality of the community, and the common bond we share of loving math, loving our job of teaching it [or trying to], and the motivation to do the best we can in the classroom every day is powerful. Because teaching is not just a job, we need this online support as fuel for our continual efforts.  minimenard

I am grateful that I have joined in the chorus.

12 comments

  1. jw12990

    Thank you for your thoughts! I couldn’t agree more. We definitely share a special bond through our desire to be the best that we can be. And I feel the fuel that such a community can bring. I dream of attending a conference someday!!

  2. absolutepi

    I love that I am connecting with this amazing group of math teachers before I earn my certification. Like you, I am not sure how I will keep up! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. Ray Anderson

    I agree with you… Being connected to people that share your passion makes the job so much more motivating and productive… I have the same problem of having to get off my TweetBot and put down my ipad…

    • Wendy Menard

      It’s ironic that the tool which helps you be more productive can sometimes make you unproductive….But it’s all in the name of helping the kiddies do math! Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Tegan

    I agree, I think the online support is great, I bet not only for the new teachers out there but also the more experienced, especially those wanting to try something new in their classrooms.

  5. Jasmine

    Wendy, I somehow had not yet had your blog on my Feedly. I’m glad to find it! I also struggle to figure out how to balance the “have tos” with the blog and twitter world. I often find myself just reading and watching when I’m in that mode, and I know that I would get more out of the whole world if I jumped in and added my two cents, both to twitter and on blog comments. I have some strange writing blockages that seem to stop me up sometimes. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

