What I wanted to say/What I have to say

IMG_4305I wanted to write a post about what was going on my classes.  I wanted to share some of the work of my students, talk about progress I’ve made in creating a classroom culture of cooperation and inquiry, self-sufficiency and collaboration. IMG_4389 There have been a lot of tough days, but also moments every day of accomplishment, humor (“Don’t sniff the glue stick, Louis”), and connection.  There are students for whom following directions is a major hurdle, and others who produce beautiful work which reflects our learning objectives.  And then there are the true rewards of teaching – being able to write glowing recommendations of students who have grown up in front of you, or receiving some excellent work from a student who just 2 years ago spoke no English, and had spent little time being formally educated in her native country.

Mideline

Mideline

I wanted to write a post to document some of the things that have been going on during this tumultuous year – the progress of the Geometry course I am writing, the challenges of teaching in a completely group-oriented environment, the hopefully productive struggle I am engaged in while taking Calculus III on line.  Last night my daughter, who knows me so well and is sometimes so wise for her 23 years, told me to write a blog post, because they always make me feel better.  Knowing she was right, I began to mentally plan it today.

And then the news that there would be no indictment in the Eric Garner chokehold case was released, and in my disbelief and outrage, I knew that I couldn’t spend the evening celebrating my accomplishments in the classroom.  I don’t even have words to describe my horror at being part of a racist system in which this is not an uncommon occurrence.   And while I was wondering how I can address this sensitively, honestly, somewhat productively in my classroom, my principal sent a message to the entire staff suggesting that we AVOID discussing this in class, that the issue is too emotionally charged, and that this is perhaps not the best teachable moment.

Not the best teachable moment?  I think this is the ULTIMATE teachable moment, albeit one that I have no idea how to teach.  My classroom is richly diverse – ethnically, linguistically, culturally – and students have been known to use inappropriate and offensive vocabulary (in a variety of languages) as part of casual conversation.  I am afraid that a conversation about this decision could become explosive, and that I lack the skills to keep things productive and safe for everyone.  While I don’t walk in the same shoes as all of my students, it is important (I think) that they know I am an ally rather than a censor, or perhaps worse, that I am indifferent, because I am neither.

I welcome your thoughts.

ADDENDUM: I hope this post does not convey the impression that I will be silent, for that is completely not the case.  I know what the right thing to do is; I’m just a little anxious about it.  Seems like the right feeling.

pavlos

Planning cities

IMG_4351

City Designs

IMG_4387

Triangle Sort

IMG_4379

Triangle Quilts a la Tina Cardone



3 comments

  1. @JustinAion

    “With all due respect, I strongly disagree. This is the most teachable moment that we have had in a while. Our students come for diverse backgrounds, many of whom have dealt with situations like this one. Many students of color already feel as though their lives have no hope and that there can be no success for them. We, as educators, as adults, as humans, must show them that yes, there is evil in the world, yes there is injustice, but there are ways to fight it. There are places that should be safe for students to express their fears and their concerns without being told to save it for another time.

    This school, our classrooms, need to be that safe place.

    The tests are important to the school, but this is important to our children and ultimately, nothing is more important than that.

    Yes, this is an emotionally charged issue and there are ways that we can discuss it without creating more problems, but to ignore it completely would be to tell our students that we don’t value them or their emotions. We are here not only to teach math, science or reading, but also to teach our students how to be responsible citizens and good people.

    This is a perfect teachable moment for us to show them how to act in moments of high emotion and stress.

    Please reconsider the schools position on this topic.

    Please.

    With respect and concern,
    Her Mathness”

Leave a Reply

